This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Think this needs some multi-threading...

Jan 5, 2011 at 10:05 PM

Great idea for an app this, and the functionality it provides is excellent.

I can't help but feel the UI could behave more responsively though, especially when doing a movie search.

It must be performing its processing in the same thread as the UI. Maybe you should consider spawning background threads for the expensive actions?

Happy to provide you with a class that I've been using for a few years that simplifies the process somewhat :)

Regards,

Westy

Jan 6, 2011 at 9:56 AM

G'day westy & welcome.

I'm pretty sure that that is the case already.... If I get MC to "check for new movies", it actually does the scraping in another thread so that you can continue navigating the rest of the GUI. New movies or Tv shows will populate the lists as they are scraped.

One of the other developers may be able to explain how much is done on the other thread as I do not know that. There is two main parts that I see, scanning the folders for new files & then scraping those new files. I'm not sure if all of that is done on the separate thread or not. In addition maybe that thread needs a lower priority or thread slice to make the GUI a little smoother.

Can you explain what actions you are taking that causes an issue for you? 

Cheers

Jan 6, 2011 at 12:28 PM

Hi there.

Just something I noticed last night when using the application for the first time... as soon as I clicked "Scan for new movies" (or whatever it was, sorry, at work atm) then the UI hung completely, and was non-responsive until that batch completed, or was killed in task manager.

I'm pretty sure it's doing stuff in the UI thread, since if it was in a background thread then the UI would/should not hang.

It would be nice, for example, to be able to have a scan running in the background, but still be able to find/update posters and fan art in the foreground.